Help with struct lifetimes

Hi all,
I'm quite new to Rust and, despite I've been reading thoughtfully the Rust Programming language and Programming in Rust books, I'm still struggling with lifetimes. This is a simplification of a code I'm currently working on:

pub struct G {
    pub name: String,
    pub p: &P,
}

impl G {
    pub fn new(name: String, p: &P) -> G {
        G {
            name: name,
            p: p,
        }
    }
}

pub struct S {
    pub gs: Vec<G>,
}

impl S {
    pub fn new() -> S {
        S {
            gs: Vec::new(),
        }
    }

pub fn add_gs(&mut self, i: u32, p: &P) {
        let g = G::new(format!("g_{}", i));
        self.gs.push(g);
    }
}

pub struct P {
    pub big: Vec<i32>,
}

impl P {
    pub fn new() -> P {
        P {
            big: Vec::with_capacity(100000 as usize),
        }
    }
}

fn main() {
    let p = P::new();
    let mut s = S::new();
    for i in 1..5 {
        s.add_gs(i, &p);
    }
}

Basically, the idea is to save unnecessary copy()'s of a large chunk of data (big).

I'm asking for your help to understand which lifetime logic could make this code working properly (if there is any) as I've tried without success.

Thanks in advance for your help, time and patience,
Brian

Do you need to modify the thing after you start sharing it? Because if not, I recommend putting it in an Arc. This allows you to clone it very cheaply, as every clone of the arc is just a new handle to the same object.

1 Like

That is a very interesting workaround! I didn't know anything about Arc, thanks a lot for pointing me to it.

In case I would need to modify it or not using the Arc object, is there any possible pure lifetime solution?

Thanks a lot for your quick and useful answer!

Well you can do it like this. Things you should be aware of:

1. While any object containing an immutable reference to p exists, you cannot modify p.
  2. Objects containing references to p must go out of scope before p goes out of scope.