Help With Serde....Lost

I can't find anywhere on the web the solution to the problem, deserialize a csv column to a Vec<&str> using serde. I'm new to applying traits with lifetimes to structs, and have read the lifetimes section of serde crate. This is a simple thing, don't want to overdo it. Please help.

This is possible only if you keep the original CSV around as String or something like that, first of all. Then, do I understand correctly that you already have some code with the desired logic, but it doesn't compile?

This is the closest i have:

struct DataFrameRaw<T> {
    dates: Vec<T>,
    closes: Vec<T>,    
}

#[derive(serde::Deserialize)]
struct Data<T> {
    value: T,
}

impl<'de, T> serde::Deserialize<'de> for DataFrameRaw<T>
where
    T: serde::Deserialize<'de>,
{
    fn deserialize<D>(deserializer: D) -> Result<Self, D::Error>
    where
        D: serde::Deserializer<'de>,
    {
        let v: Vec<Data<T>> = serde::Deserialize::deserialize(deserializer)?;
        let values = v.into_iter().map(|f| f.value).collect();

Ok(DataFrameRaw { values })
    }
}

So What you are saying is that it is not possible, even using serde's 'de lifetime to magically deserialize to a vec of &str without keeping the String, meaning you might as well from a memory and performance standpoint just go with the String?

Where are the actual string characters stored? Rust references are pointers with provenance; they aren't storage for the pointed-to things. Rust's lifetimes provide a way to ensure that references don't live longer than the storage to which they refer.

value format in .csv = "2020-11-16T00:00:00.029158276-05"

i would like the 500,000 or so of those entries to be stored in a Vec<&str> rather than a Vec of String, but if it is either not possible, or not advantageous memory wise, i suppose i shouldn't.