Help understanding how trait bounds work

I'm still fairly new to rust, but I've been fairly pleased with my progress so far, however, I'm stuck with a particular error that I have no idea where to start looking.

There's a stripped down version below from play.rust-lang, it's from a mini problem I'm working on where I need some conditional buffering of a file depending on the first few lines, I'm sure there is a more idiomatic way of solving my problem, but I want to understand this current error first.

I think my understanding of how traits work is faulty: from below, I'm passing around a source and rdr variable, all of which have a trait bound of implementing io::Read. The general flow is: source bytes/file is passed into EncodingDetector which implements io::Read so that it can read the first few lines of the input stream to determine what the encoding is. The encoding is set on ReadBytes, and the EncodingDetector wrapped stream is passed into it. The ReadBytes is then stored as the input stream on the SourceFile, which requires the input stream/source to also implement io::Read.

Am I missing something simple, or is my understanding of how traits work incomplete?

Thanks!

use std::io;

struct ReadBytes<R, B> {
    rdr: R,
    buf: B,
}

impl<R: io::Read> ReadBytes<R, Vec<u8>> {
    pub fn new(rdr: R) -> ReadBytes<R, Vec<u8>> {
        ReadBytes { rdr: rdr, buf: vec![] }
    }
}

impl<R: io::Read, B: AsMut<[u8]>> io::Read for ReadBytes<R,B> {
    fn read(&mut self, buf: &mut [u8]) -> io::Result<usize> {
        self.rdr.read(buf)
    }
}

struct SourceFile<R>
where
    R: io::Read,
{
    source: R,
}

impl<R> SourceFile<R>
where
{
    fn new(source: R) -> SourceFile<R> {
        let e = EncodingDetector::new(source);
        let rb = ReadBytes::new(e);
        //XXX: ReadBytes implements io::Read, why does this complain?
        SourceFile { source: rb }
    }
}

struct EncodingDetector<R>
where
{
    source: io::BufReader<R>,
}

impl<R> EncodingDetector<R>