Help learning cryptography with Rust

Hi,

As a novice in cryptography I was wondering how to start with it relying only on Rust. As a beginner, I am mostly interested into libraries supporting both symmetric and asymmetric cryptography solution. My current research led me to following conclusions (I would like your input on):

1. Currently the best maintained library for crypto in Rust is ring library ( What is your opinion? )
  2. There are not to many examples on how to properly implement an encryption protocol. Let say I would like to use the one from rust-crypto, however, when you start digging a bit further into, it turns out there is no authentication utilized within it. Hm… bummer… Something I did not know it is important. I realize there is a lot to it but a starting point would be helpful (Any tips, materials, examples, cookbooks you might provide here? )
  3. I couldn’t find any examples how to utilize asymetric encryption with rust. Any suggestions ?
  4. I came across branca but I am not quite sure if it can be utilized to cipher a text. Any help in briefly describing what it is and what is used for would be much appreciated.

That is all for now…

Thnx

M

0 Likes

What kind of protocol do you want to implement? You say you’re a cryptography novice, which likely means any protocol you design or implement will have critical security flaws. Can you just use an existing protocol such as TLS instead?

1 Like

That is absolutely true ! My aim is purely educational I want to understand how a protocol works TLS/SSL and I understand it will be cr… with serious security issues. But I want to know how it works, so I’ll be writing examples, posting them here and looking for your input (plus I think this would be good for others as a learning material ) I’don’t know, maybe I’m just wasting time but let see… Any pointers / tips ?

UPDATE:

This is one of the examples I do not understand Why it does not work:

extern crate ring;

use ring::aead::*;