Hello from a rustacean nauplius

Greetings from Italy, I'm a fresh beginner in Rust and a former molecular biologist with a passion for programming and learning new languages. I've been working at web backend/api development during the last ten years (mainly in ruby and recently in Elixir). I'm thinking to try to learn and use Rust to develop a bioinformatic tool I'll have to build to maintain some sequence databases (very big text files with hundred thousands of DNA sequences) for species identification purposes, which require frequents taxonomic reviews of their entries. I'd like this tool to be fast and executable in windows, mac, and linux boxes, without the overload of interpreters and/or virtual machines. I know I'm going to learn a lot from you (lurking, to begin with) so I want to thank you all since now.

Here's the nauplius of a crab, the first of the series of its development stages:
Schermata 2020-05-26 alle 23.31.37

I hope one day I could be a proud ...

Ouch!, new users can only post one image.. :no_mouth:
So, here you have to imagine a nice Ferris the Crab picture :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Welcome! With that background post, I'm certain that you'll find many members of this forum who will gladly contribute to your education in Rust and, when asked specifics, to your bioinformatic tool project.

What do you want for the overall structure of that tool? Some parts will be easier to do as a new Rustacean; others will require both a lot of learning and, probably, significant help.

Do you have a specific database technology that you want to use? (Some databases have better existing support in Rust than others.) How big do you expect your eventual database to be? 10 GB? 100 GB? larger? Focused requirements like these will better enable others on this forum to volunteer to help.

1 Like

Hello @TomP and thank you for the warm welcome.