Hello community

I am new to Rust but I like the language very much. I feel its a very innovative one especially with lifetimes and ownership rules. However, I do find its flaws. Rust and Golang are about tbe same age yet Golang standard library has more arsenal than Rust (to me nonetheless). I might be totally wrong and if so forgive my ignorance. I find reading and writing XML or Excel files is very tough using Rust compared to what we have in Golang.

Also one of the things I really miss is lack of updated books / tutorials.

Hope to see Rust enter top 10 programming languages in the coming years.

For a programming language that is not even 6 years old, calling a 3 year difference "about the same age" is overstretching the term. In relative terms, Go is 50% older than Rust.

Also please be aware that Rust has smaller team and much less resources. Google >>> Mozilla.

This is interesting. If rust has a smaller team, does it limit the prospects of Rust?

I did not knew that. I thought Rust was made public on 2010 and Go was made public on 2009.

You should be going by the first stable release, which was 2015 for Rust and 2012 for Go.

The unstable phase of a programming language is like pregnancy. Would you compare 1 year old Go in 2013 with unborn Rust and complain, that although Rust has technically existed since 2010, that it hasn't learned to walk, yet? Learning to walk is a metaphor for extending the programming language and standard library. You don't start with that before you're born, so you can't make a comparison before the first stable release.

Rust is stable guaranteed with 1.0.0 since May 15, 2015. Before that, no one actually uses Rust
seriously. Since code could break overnight.

I am by no mean a Rust expert but here are my thoughts.
But please beware that this chat is off-topic. Also Go and Rust has different user target and design philosophy, so this might not be comparable.

The TL/DR is that Rust has a bright future.