Hello and some notes

Hello, since some days I've started to study Rust, and I have being amazed by how many Rust design decisions I agree with, this is unusual. I am still a Rust newbie, so far I have read just the very nice "Rust by Example" (http://rustbyexample.com ), several blog posts and some Reddit threads.

I usually program in D and Python, and I also like the Haskell, ATS2 (www.ats-lang.org ), Whiley (whiley.org ), Julia (julialang.org ) and Ada languages, for different reasons. I have opened more than one thousand of enhancement requests/bug reports for D, I maintain about one thousand RosettaCode (rosettacode.org ) solutions for D (many entries have multiple solutions), and I have given a hand to design the D Range algorithms (std.range - D Programming Language ). English isn't my native language so if you spot some English mistakes feel free to note them.

Below there's a first batch of notes and small questions (most links here don't have the https: because as first post this system doesn't let me write more than two links...).

1. Do you know some Rust programmers/users in Italy? I'd like to meet some of them, to create a little meeting. (I haven't visited a Rust IRC channel yet).

1. So far (I am still at an early stage of Rust study) the only Rust language design decision I have found that I don't like much regards the % operator, that behaves like in C99/D (it computes the dividend):

fn main() {
    let n1 = std::env::args()
    .nth(1)
    .map_or(Ok(10), |n| n.parse::())
    .unwrap();

let n2 = std::env::args()
              .nth(2)
              .map_or(Ok(20), |n| n.parse::<i64>())
              .unwrap();

println!("{}", n1 % n2);

}

Rust outputs:

>test1 10 3
>test1 10 -3
>test1 -10 3
>test1 -10 -3

Similar operations on the Python Shell give:

>>> 10 % 3
>>> 10 % -3
>>> -10 % 3
>>> -10 % -3