HashMap of a Vector of Objects

Hello,

Rust newbie here (I’m about 2-3 weeks in). I was looking at Vectors and HashMaps, and made me wonder if I can create a HashMap of references to a vector’s elements. My thought process was that it would be nice to be able to look up an object by one of it’s members while still maintaining the the collection by modifying the Vector.

I tried this in a multitude of ways, but continued to get lifetime and ownership errors until I landed at this implementation:

use std::collections::HashMap;

#[derive(Clone, Debug)]
struct SomeMessage {
    name: String,
    id: u32,
    info: u64,
}
#[derive(Clone, Debug)]
struct QuickLookup<'a> {
    vector: Vec<SomeMessage>,
    hashmap: HashMap<u32, &'a SomeMessage>,
}
impl<'a> QuickLookup<'a> {
    fn new(messages: Vec<SomeMessage>, hashmap: HashMap<u32, &'a SomeMessage>) -> QuickLookup {
        QuickLookup {
            vector: messages,
            hashmap,
        }
    }
    fn populate(&'a mut self) {
        for message in self.vector.iter() {
            self.hashmap.insert(message.id, &message);
        }
    }
}
fn main() -> () {
    let message_1 = SomeMessage {
        name: "Msg1".to_string(),
        id: 5,
        info: 88,
    };
    let message_2 = SomeMessage {
        name: "Msg2".to_string(),
        id: 7,
        info: 33,
    };
    let mut message_vec = Vec::new();
    message_vec.push(message_1);
    message_vec.push(message_2);

let hashmap = HashMap::new();

let mut quick = QuickLookup::new(message_vec, hashmap);

quick.populate(); //Can't borrow anything from quick after this line

println!("{:?}", quick.vector); //Doesn't work
    println!("{:?}", quick.hashmap); //Doesn't work
    quick.populate();  //Also doesn't work 
}

I had trouble bringing the HashMap into the struct directly in new(), so I made a populate() method dedicated to updating hashmap.