Has a language level "weak reference" ever been explored for Rust?

I see that the reference counting Rc library includes weak references but what I’m wondering is if the idea of a weak reference was ever considered for the language itself. I’m thinking specifically about the difficulties in creating self referential structures using what would be considered in other languages as “normal” approaches (I’m a long time C/C++ programmer).

I’m curious to know what types of things were discussed and why they weren’t adopted. I’ve wondered if instead of having all or nothing safe or unsafe code, having just an unsafe/unchecked type (ie. the back reference). Kind of in the same way that root permissions on most OSs are no longer a giant all or nothing hammer and are now decomposed into smaller permissions.

Before 1.0 Rust used to have @ symbol for garbage-collected pointers, which actually used reference counting. So it’s been somewhat explored, and removed from the language. But self-referential struct problem is still unsolved.

Current approach is the rental crate. I’ve seen some proposals to add “immovable” types to the language that would allow self-referential structs to be safe.

Plain pointers in Rust are an unsafe type, so *mut Type is essentially this unchecked backreference type. You can place them in structs and copy in safe code. You only need unsafe{} to dereference them (but of course it’s up to you to ensure the memory is still allocated and the struct hasn’t been memmove'd elsewhere).

Thanks for the great answer!

I find the keyword “unsafe” really gets under my skin - when it just means “unchecked.” It’s no worse than normal C/C++.

This has specific meaning in Rust. Dereferencing a raw pointer, which is “unchecked” for validity by the compiler, can lead to memory unsafety, hence “unsafe”.