Handling common case and special case when using structs

We have a struct A with some fields and some of its "instance" are special and some fields does not make sense to them.

Both the normal A s and the special A s will generally need to be processed together in a Vec. They are generally created from different ways like calling different APIs and put into the Vec.

As a newbie, I come up with the following solutions:

First: Enum way

#[derive(Default)]
struct NormalA {
    pub val: i32,
    pub created: String,
}

#[derive(Default)]
struct SpecialA {
}

enum A {
    Normal(NormalA),
    Special(SpecialA),
}

fn do_with_a(a: &A) {
    match a {
        A::Normal(inner) => println!("{:#?}", inner.val),
        A::Special(inner) => println!("{:#?}", inner.val),
    }
}

fn main() {
    let many_as = vec![
        A::Normal(NormalA {
            val: 1,
            created: "now".to_owned(),
        }),
            val: 2,
            created: "yesterday".to_owned(),
        }),
        A::Special(SpecialA { val: -1 }),
    ];

for a in &many_as {
        do_with_a(a);
    }
}

Second: Option way

#[derive(Default)]
struct A {
    pub created: Option<String>,
}

impl A {
    fn is_special(&self) -> bool {
        self.val < 0
    }
}

println!("{:#?}", a.val);
}

fn main() {
    let many_as = vec![
        A {
            created: Some("now".to_owned()),
        },
        A {
            created: Some("yesterday".to_owned()),
        },
        A {
            val: -1,
            created: None,
        },
    ];

for a in &many_as {
        do_with_a(a);
    }
}

The first way use enum to differentiate the normal ones and special ones. Generally need more code to match the enum and to create the "instances". The type system requires one to check the special case in every usage.

The second way make some fields optional to adapt for the special ones. The Some or None is not elegant on fields. Also need methods like is_special to check whether one is special.