Hakell -> Rust Job opportunities?

Hi,

If this isn't an allowed subject please remove, I'm thinking that this journey I'm taking is probably one that other Haskellers are contemplating/doing so would help them too!

I've been a Haskell/Purescript developer for the past 6-7 years in production, the job market in those languages has just become too thin unless you are into crypto/blockchain. I find myself with uncomfortable gaps between contracts/roles as I search for something new using those languages and with addition to the family :baby: priorities must change with those strict requirements.

So I've been making the move towards Rust as from my experimentation it seems really nice (not quite as pleasing to the eye but meh can definitely get over that!! what a nit picker!!) and the job market is far more fruitful.

My questions being though I'm senior in Haskell/Purescript am I likely to be taken on at that level due to no Rust production experience? Then secondly what are recommended places/sites to look for Rust roles?

Thanking you in advance for any advice :slight_smile:

Really? I don't know the Haskell market, but Rust is still up and coming and job opportunities are therefore scarce (beyond crypto) IMO.[1] At least compared to the ton of Java/JS/Python/C# jobs out there. I had to become a freelancer in 2020, because I wanted to work with Rust and couldn't find a position that felt right for me :sweat_smile:.

Definetly! Most job descriptions for (junior/mid-level) rust devs I've read say they pay based on experience level and allow people coming from different languages. This is again due to the fact that Rust is such a young language. Not as many professionals with long-time experience out there to compete against.