Grab stdout/stderr as available

Hello Crustaceans!

I'm using Tokio's process::Command to run a command locally. When I use spawn, I know I get back a Child and from that Child, I can get ChildStdout and ChildStderr. How can I continuously poll to grab the latest output while waiting for the child to finish?

You can keep reading from the ChildStdout until you get a read of size 0, then call wait on the child. The child is guaranteed to close its stdout and stderr when it exits (but may also close them before exiting).

Note also that the stdout/stderr objects can be taken out of the Child object, allowing you to access both the pipes and the Child object simultaneously.

4 Likes

I'm really new to async in Rust and trying to get my head around it (mostly by trying to forget my knowledge of async Python which does things a bit differently). Am I on the right path with something like this:

let child = match command.spawn() {
        Ok(child) => child,
        Err(err) => {
            slog::error!(logging::get(), "Failed to spawn child process: {:?}", err);
            return Err(anyhow!(err));
        }
    };

let stdout = match child.stdout.take() {
        Some(stdout) => stdout,
        None => {
            slog::error!(logging::get(), "Failed to get child stdout stream",);
            return Err(anyhow!("Failed to get child stdout stream"));
        }
    };

let stderr = match child.stderr.take() {
        Some(stderr) => stderr,
        None => {
            slog::error!(logging::get(), "Failed to get child stderr stream",);
            return Err(anyhow!("Failed to get child stderr stream"));
        }
    };

loop {
        select! {
            stdo = stdout => println!(stdo),
            stde = stderr => eprintln!(stde),
            output = child => println!("Done!"),
            complete => break,
        };
    }

You can't select directly on stdout and stderr because they implement AsyncRead, not Future.