Global once_cell::sync::Lazy is not thread safe

I'm new to Rust and coming from a C++ background. I feel explaining what I want to do with C++ terms is easier for me.

I want to create a global Hashmap what holds many objects (pointers)

during runtime, I give a key to the hashmap and get a weak pointer to an object in return.

The hashmap has the ownership of the pointers.

I don't know how to achieve this?

The hashmap is created with

static STATES: Lazy<HashMap<&String, Arc<dyn StateFunc>>> = Lazy::new(|| {
    let hm = HashMap::new();
    hm
});

getting:

12 | / static STATES: Lazy<HashMap<&String, Arc<dyn StateFunc>>> = Lazy::new(|| {
13 | |     let hm = HashMap::new();
14 | |     hm
15 | | });
| |___^ `dyn StateFunc` cannot be sent between threads safely

StateFunc is a trait:

trait StateFunc{
    fn to_next(&self, c: char) -> Option<&Arc<dyn StateFunc>>;
}

I'm using a trait object, because I want to use it as the base class to achieve Polymorphism.

If to translate the above in C++ , I want:

class StateFunc{};
class StateA: public StateFunc{};
class StateB: public StateFunc{};
std::map<std::string, std:: shared_ptr <StateFunc>> globalHashMap{}

I only intent to use it in a single thread.

Arc requires both Send + Sync to be thread-safe itself. You can add these constraints in your trait object declaration like Arc<dyn StateFunc + Send + Sync>. Or you can make it required for all uses of your trait by declaring trait StateFunc: Send + Sync {}.

Then you might want to make STATES a thread-local instead, and use unsync::Lazy.

3 Likes

If you want a threadsafe version of this, then have a look at the lazy_static crate.

In general this is a bad idea, because 1. Global mutable state is undesirable and potentially fragile, and 2. Depending on usage patterns you can get runtime contention issues.