Get item from vector passed by reference

Hi all. I should start by saying that I am new to Rust, so this question might be too obvious! :slight_smile:

Regardless, all I am doing is a function that receives a vector by reference and I just use find to find an element and then return it:

fn get_file_from_list(list: &Vec<ZippedFile>, filename: &str) -> ZippedFile {
    let result = list.iter().find(|&f| f.path == filename).unwrap();
    return result;
}

But the compiler then complains:

error[E0308]: mismatched types
  --> src/main.rs:78:12
   |
76 | fn get_file_from_list(list: &Vec<ZippedFile>, filename: &str) -> ZippedFile {
   |                                                                  ---------- expected `ZippedFile` because of return type
77 |     let result = list.iter().find(|&f| f.path == filename).unwrap();
78 |     return result;
   |            ^^^^^^ expected struct `ZippedFile`, found `&ZippedFile`

error: aborting due to previous error

For more information about this error, try `rustc --explain E0308`.

It says that the return type should be &ZippedFile and I don't understand why, and it doesn't seem to be the most correct thing to actually return &ZippedFile, I mean... the compiler doesn't even let you do that, while recommending doing this instead:

fn get_file_from_list<'a>(list: &'a Vec<ZippedFile>, filename: &'a str) -> &'a ZippedFile {
    return result;
}

But I must be honest and say that I don't undestand and don't know if the suggestion is the ideal thing or if there is a simpler way of doing this.

Thanks in advance!

This should be sufficient

fn get_file_from_list<'a>(list: &'a [ZippedFile], filename: &str) -> &'a ZippedFile {
    return result;
}
  1. You almost never want &Vec<T>, &[T] is more flexible
  2. Since there are multiple lifetimes in the arguments, you need to tell Rust what you want.