Get all files and folders matching a filter

Hi all,

I'm new to rust, and I try to convert an existing C# application to Rust.
One of things that I should do I fetch all the files and directories in a folder and returns the ones for which the name does NOT end with something specific.
I decided to create a function on which I can pass a closure which defines the filter, so that it's reusable.
I'm looking on feedback on what you think about the implementation.
Thanks in advance.

use std::fs;
use std::io;
use std::path;

type PathFilter = fn(&path::PathBuf) -> bool;
type FilteredDirResults = Result<Vec<path::PathBuf>, io::Error>;

pub fn read_dir_filtered(dir: &str, filter: PathFilter) -> FilteredDirResults {
    match std::fs::read_dir(dir) {
        Ok(reader) => match get_all_that_matches_filter(reader, filter) {
            Ok(res) => Ok(res),
            Err(err) => Err(err),
        },
        Err(err) => Err(err),
    }
}

fn get_all_that_matches_filter(mut reader: fs::ReadDir, filter: PathFilter) -> FilteredDirResults {
    let mut res: Vec<std::path::PathBuf> = Vec::new();

while let Some(entry) = reader.next() {
        let path = entry.unwrap().path();

if matches(&path, filter) {
            res.push(path);
        }
    }

Ok(res)
}

fn matches(input: &path::PathBuf, filter: PathFilter) -> bool {
    filter(input)
}

Here are my comments in the order I noticed them.

• I would not hide a Result behind a type alias in that manner. I would write out the return type of those methods as io::Result<Vec<PathBuf>>, with a full import of PathBuf.
  • Using generics or impl Fn rather than a function pointer will make it easier for the compiler to optimize it.
  • We would typically use &Path over &PathBuf as argument.
  • You .unwrap() your errors, yet you return a Result. The get_all_that_matches_filter function can in fact never return an error by any way other than a panic.