Generics and Trait Objects with same Trait Bound

When Generics meet Trait Objects of the same Trait Bound

I'm new to rust, and I'm stuck on a problem related to the implementation of a graph data structure. I'm also new to non-GC programming, so please forgive my ignorance. I've worked through most of The Book at this point, and I wanted to set out to make a real application.

Goal

I have a struct containing a generic list with a trait bound, which can only store objects of the same type because generics can only resolve to a single concrete type,

struct ComponentList<T>( HashMap<T: IsComponent> )

...that I want to gather into a manager list that can accept objects of different types which share the same trait using a trait object.

struct ComponentManager( HashMap<dyn IsComponentList> )

The final goal would be a ComponentManager that owns a bunch of ComponentLists, each with different concrete (IsComponent) types.

Issue

The issue occurs when I try to use this ComponentManager to manage the ComponentLists. I want to be able to add a component using ComponentManager::add_component() which will figure out which list to stick the component in based on its concrete type.

cm = ComponentManager::new();
some_component = SomeComponentType::new(); // Must implement IsComponent
// Stick this component in a ComponentList<SomeComponentType>
// Which is stored inside the ComponentManager
cm.add_component(some_component);

However I'm unable to use ComponentManager( HashMap<dyn IsComponentList> ) after I implement IsComponentList::add_component(). I receive these errors

"the trait ecs::IsComponentList cannot be made into an object"

"method add_component has generic type parameters"

Which seem to stem from the fact that add_component() uses the IsComponent trait bound.

pub trait IsComponentList {
    fn add_component(&mut self, component: impl IsComponent);
}

Attempted Solution