Generic function for int, float, char or string in vector

Hello

I am a beginner and I would like to a generic function that works for all of the vectors (longer_vector) and not to write a function for each datatype (longer_vector_int, longer_vector_string....).

Example Code:

fn main() {
let v1 = vec!['a','b','c','d'];
let v2 = vec!['x','y','z'];

println!("{:?}", longer_vector_char(&v1, &v2));

let v3 = vec![1,2,3,4,5,6];
let v4 = vec![1,2,3,4,5,6,7];

println!("{:?}", longer_vector_int(&v3, &v4));

let v5 = vec!["xTEST1".to_string(),"TEST2".to_string(),"TEST3".to_string(),"TEST4".to_string()];
let v6 = vec!["TestX".to_string(), "TestY".to_string(), "TESTzzzz".to_string()];

println!("{:?}", longer_vector_string(&v5, &v6));

println!("{:?}", longer_vector(&v1, &v2));
println!("{:?}", longer_vector(&v3, &v4));
println!("{:?}", longer_vector(&v5, &v6));

}

// THIS DOESN'T SEEM TO WORK, WHAT AM I DOING WRONG
fn longer_vector<T: 'a>(x: &'a[T], y: &'a[T]) -> &'a[T] {
if x.len() > y.len() { x } else { y }
}

fn longer_vector_int<'a>(x: &'a[i32], y: &'a[i32]) -> &'a[i32] {
}

fn longer_vector_char<'a>(x: &'a[char], y: &'a[char]) -> &'a[char] {
}

fn longer_vector_string<'a>(x: &'a[String], y: &'a[String]) -> &'a[String] {
}

thank you for your help

Marc

The compiler tells you exactly what you're doing wrong:

error[E0261]: use of undeclared lifetime name `'a`
  --> src/main.rs:22:29
   |
22 | fn longer_vector<T: 'a>(x: &'a[T], y: &'a[T]) -> &'a[T] {
   |                             ^^ undeclared lifetime

Fixed:

fn longer_vector<'a, T: 'a>(x: &'a[T], y: &'a[T]) -> &'a[T] {
}

As an aside: when posting something, check the formatting in the preview before posting. When you're posting code, try to link to the playpen.

2 Likes

Thank you

i'm a very beginner,,, :slight_smile:

Hello Daniel

is there any Documentation for such Generic functions, i just found Generics