Function call with a . (dot)

Hello everyone,

I'm new to rust and at the moment I was reading the rust book. So my question is about first edition of the book where Error Handling is discussed.

In the book the map function is defined

fn map<F, T, A>(option: Option<T>, f: F) -> Option<A> where F: FnOnce(T) -> A {
    match option {
        None => None,
        Some(value) => Some(f(value)),
    }
}

and later it is called in the next example

fn extension(file_name: &str) -> Option<&str> {
    find(file_name, '.').map(|i| &file_name[i+1..])
}

Later in the same section a similar example is given

fn unwrap_or<T>(option: Option<T>, default: T) -> T {
    match option {
        None => default,
        Some(value) => value,
    }
}

and the call

fn main() {
    assert_eq!(extension("foobar.csv").unwrap_or("rs"), "csv");
    assert_eq!(extension("foobar").unwrap_or("rs"), "rs");
}

Since the find function in the first example returns the Option<T> type as well as the extension function, their values are then passed into the map and assert_eq!.

I know that when I implement some methods for some Struct I pass either self, &self or &mut self into the function and how the things are working is clear. However, in these two examples there is no self and consequently I would expect to call the map as

map(find(file_name, '.'), |i| &file_name[i+1..])

I could not find anything about it in the documentation.

Thanks for the help.

Looking at the reference, indeed, you find

fn map<U, F>(self, f: F) -> Option<U> where
    F: FnOnce(T) -> U, 

and

fn unwrap_or(self, def: T) -> T

Yes indeed this is what I expect. But my question is about the book itself. There in the examples the first parameter is not self but Option<T> and this is exactly what confuses me. How can then map can be called with a dot?

after this listing, the book says