Format string to buffer and get length

I just want to put a formatted string in a byte array. To use it I obviously need the length of the output, but I did not find how to do it properly. Everything I come up with is just stupid... like this:

use std::io::Write;

fn main() {
  let mut buf = [0u8; 65536];

let s = "string";

let mut remlen = buf.len();

{
    let mut x = &mut buf[..];
    write!(x, "test {} 123", s).unwrap();
    remlen = x.len();
  }

println!(
    "{}",
    std::str::from_utf8(&buf[..(buf.len() - remlen)]).unwrap()
  );
}

The last println is just to check. In reality I want to send the buffer over a socket.

std::string::String has a method called as_bytes. Does that not work for you?

Does std::io::Write::write_fmt work? That's what the write macro is calling under the hood.

1 Like

I'd like to avoid the Heap allocation if thats possible. Sorry I am really new to Rust, but this seems like something that should not be that hard. I mean the write! macro is there... I am probably just not able to use it correctly

You could create an empty ArrayVec and write to it:

use arrayvec::ArrayVec;
use std::io::Write;

fn main() {
  let mut buf: ArrayVec<[u8; 65536]> = ArrayVec::new();

let s = "string";
  write!(buf, "test {} 123", s).unwrap();

println!("{}", std::str::from_utf8(&buf).unwrap());
}
2 Likes

AFAIK formatting strings will always return a heap allocated string because it's unknown beforehand what the size of the arguments will be so it can't be stack allocated.

However if your socket implements std::io::Write, there should be no need to format the strings, just write each piece in the writer subsequently. For that you will need to transform each piece to &[u8]. For strings (heap allocated or not) that can be done with as_bytes.

1 Like

Formatting won't allocate at all on it's own. So using write!(socket, "hello {}", "bar") won't allocate. For details, see the core::fmt::Arguments type.

1 Like