First rust project, a parser: facing the interior-mutability problem

Hello,
I am new to Rust and I am trying to write a pull-parser as a first project. I have defined a struct like this:

struct AbnfScanner<'a> {
    source: &'a str,
    iter: std::str::CharIndices<'a>,
    last: Option<char>,
    position: usize,
    last_position: usize,
    line: usize,
    column: usize,
    token: Token<'a>,
}

And it has some get_next function performing the next parsing step and storing the current token. It looks like this:

impl<'a> AbnfScanner<'a> {
    // ...new() and other functions not listed...

fn get_next(&mut self) -> &'a Token
    {
        // Modifications to self / AbnfScanner and self.token happen here...
    }
}

This causes problems because I need a mutable reference to call get_next which even cause my simple unit tests to not compile:

let token = abnf_scanner.get_next();
        let expected = Token{ class: TokenClass::TokenId(AbnfTokenId::Name as u32), content: &"rule", line: 1, column: 1 };
        if *token != expected {
            return Err(format!("Unexpected result: {:?} \n!=\n {:?}", token, expected));
        }

let token = abnf_scanner.get_next();
        let expected = Token{ class: TokenClass::TokenId(AbnfTokenId::Whitespace as u32), content: &" ", line: 1, column: 5 };
        if *token != expected {
            return Err(format!("Unexpected result: {:?} \n!=\n {:?}", token, expected));
        }

I get multiple errors like this:

error[E0499]: cannot borrow `*abnf_scanner` as mutable more than once at a time

I read RefCell<T> and the Interior Mutability Pattern - The Rust Programming Language and it looks like it would solve my problem but I wonder if it is the best way to go or if there are other solutions. Here are some thoughts and questions:

• if I use RefCell what is it doing, more precisely what runtime costs will that add?