First macro help: matching a literal string as a flag?

Hello,

This year, I'm (slowly) making my way through Advent of Code 2018 as a way to learn rust. I'm trying to learn a new rust feature with each new problem.

I've just finished Day 16, in which I created a number of functions following a very similar signature and pattern, and I wondered if it might be a good opportunity to learn to write my first macro that would define these functions. I've read The Little Book of Rust Macros, the Rust Book, and tried to do my homework with several SO and forum searches, but I am not a programmer by training, so some of these concepts are tough for me.

I'm hoping to create a macro that I can call with something like op!(addi, reg C = reg A + B) and defines a function named addi (name will vary with each call to the macro) that accepts two &[usize; 4] and returns a &[usize; 4] (same for each call to the macro). The letters A, B, and C, the operator (+ in this case), and the preceding presence or absence of reg before this letter all determine how the function runs, and these will vary.

The first trouble spot I'm running into is figuring out how to match things like reg, or A, which will inform my macro regarding how to write the function body. reg will function like a flag for each letter -- what kind of metavariable does that make it? A literal? How can I match for the presence or absence of a literal reg ? Something like $($first_reg:literal)? Similarly, for the A, B, or C -- only those three letters should be accepted (and in other cases the macro should fail to compile). Does that make the metavariable a pattern? I wouldn't think so, since the macro doesn't accept a pattern, just a letter that I want to ensure matches a pattern.

My thoughts so far in trying to figure out the pattern:

macro_rules! op {
    ($name:ident, $($out_reg:"reg")? $out:(A|B|C) = $($lhs_reg:"reg")? $lhs:(A|B|C) $operator: $($rhs_reg:"reg")? $rhs:(A|B|C)) => {