First impressions with Rust

Hi, I am new to both Rust and this forum, having made some experiment with Rust recently.

I was recently contacted from a person I had never met before, asking for some comments on Nim and Rust. I took the time to answer him with my experience, and he suggested that it might make sense to share my views with the Rust community.

You can find my experience here. Please, note that this is not meant to bash Rust in any way, and in fact I will continue to follow it development with interest, especially now that it's landing 1.0. Also, I have probably written many inaccuracies. The post is meant to reflect the experience of a Rust beginner. Still, I would be happy to stand corrected, and learn something more. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

TL;DR Your article has large positive bias towards Nim. Hard to take rest of it at face value.

Rust is verbose in some places. But I'm not sure your point about 10 vs 1 lines stands under reasonable scrutiny. If Nim is a white-space sensitive language, then that's explains most of "less lines" required part. White-space sensitive language have no need for { or } so you can shave couple of lines here and there.

First your Point would make more sense as named struct:

pub struct Point {
      pub x: f64, 
      pub y: f64,
  }

Which makes your add implementation quite shorter:

impl Add for Point {
      type Output = Point;

fn add(self, other: Point) -> Point {  
         Point { x = self.x + other.x; y = self.y + other.y }
      }
}

You could probably trim out some white space to achieve less lines, but its probably against style guidelines.

Personally I'd love to be able to say

fn add (self, other: Point) ->  Point(self.x +other.x, self.y + other.y)