Finding frequency of an elements in the vector

let some_vec: Vec<i32> = vec![5, 5, 5, 6, 23, 23, 234, 64, 7, 76, 2, 67, 2, 4, 4, 4];
    let mut freq_vec: HashMap<i32, u32> = HashMap::new();

for i in &some_vec {
        // println!("{i}");

let freq: &mut u32 = freq_vec.entry(*i).or_insert(0);
        *freq += 1;
        println!("{:?}", freq)
    }
    println!("{:?}", freq_vec);

I can't to understand *freq += 1; part of code how it update frequency.

The entry API lets you do a bunch of useful things with a key to a hash map. In this case or_insert inserts a default value of 0 if there was no value at that key in the map, and then returns a mutable reference to the value at that key, whether it used the default value or not.

1 Like

Sorry i am very new at rust.. I don't understand. :sweat_smile: :sweat_smile:

Have you worked with languages where you have to deal with references or pointers before? If not, you may want to read up on ownership and references. Later on in the book, updating a hash is discussed, including an explanation of what the *freq (or *count) is doing.

In brief,

• a &mut T is a reference some T you can override or otherwise modify
  • freq is a &mut u32 like the annotation says, so it references a u32 somewhere (inside the map's allocated memory, as it happens)
  • *freq is the memory of the u32 itself
  • *freq += 1 adds 1 to the u32 in-place (inside the map's allocated memory)

Reading the book is a good way to start learning the language in general.

If you know all that, then this is just a question of understanding the API. While it can be slow to look things up one by one when you're starting out, the std docs are generally quite good. So let's take a look:

//        vvvvvvvv annotation
        let freq: &mut u32 = freq_vec // HashMap (with an unintuitive name)
            .entry(*i)                // some Thing
            .or_insert(0);            // &mut u32, from annotation

HashMap::entry gives us a HashMap::Entry: