Fastest way of communication between threads of same program?

Assume:

1. one machine, possibly multiple CPUs
  2. x86_64 Linux + Rust
  3. all messages are 32 bytes
  4. we are willing to 'waste RAM' on buffers

Taking into account cache flushing behaviour, what is the fastest way for two Rust threads of the same process to communicate ?

EDIT: using unsafe is fine

kiinda broad - what ikind of access?

regular memory of course, but you probably need something to lock/spin around to protect it from being corrupted. More detail is necessary.

For the broadest answer is probably one of the channels or mpmc queues from the crossbeam crate. You can sculpt faster if you know what you are doing and what you are doing it to.

3 Likes

There's also the question of whether you want low latency or high throughput.

11 Likes

I'm no expert, but from what I've read: for what you're asking you probably want to spin on each thread on a circular buffer controlled by atomic read and write pointers to communicate. Each thread should only be talking to one other thread on each buffer to prevent contention on the pointers (and the pointers should be on separate cache lines, but I don't have much guidance there)

This gets you potentially sub-microsecond latency, for whatever that's worth on a non-real time os.

I will say though: it's not that likely to be useful to be this aggressive, but sure, give it a try.

+1 on spinning AKA busy waiting (maybe with a timeout to fall back to blocking so as to not burn CPU time when there's no data left, assuming the latency hit for the thread become runnable again is acceptable. The Erlang VM has a flag +sbwt to configure the max busy wait time for its scheduler threads for this reason.)