Failed to run custom build command for `backtrace-sys v0.1.31

Hi,

I'm new to Rust and I'm about to start my very first project. I want to build something that requires web scraping and saw in the Cookbook that I can use the reqwest crate to perform HTTP requests.

Unfortunately, I got stuck immediately even before getting to write a single line of code :frowning:
I added reqwest = "0.9.20" as a dependency in my Cargo.toml file and then ran cargo build.

The project fails to compile with the following error:

error: failed to run custom build command for `backtrace-sys v0.1.31`

Caused by:
  process didn't exit successfully: `/Users/andresovela/rustdev/project_tracker/target/debug/build/backtrace-sys-28d20b1249f676c5/build-script-build` (exit code: 1)

Any ideas?

EDIT: I'm on macOS 10.14.6 (Mojave), latest stable Rust.

Do you have the normal MacOS non-rust development tools installed? As I recall backtrace-sys uses the system backtrace handler, meaning it needs to compile code native to the system for it to be able to work.

The installation documentation of it also seems to confirm this:

Note that this crate requires cc and ar to be present on Unix systems when libbacktrace is used (which is the default). For configuring C compilers see the cc crate documentation.

And MacOSX is a unix system.

I did see that in the documentation but I don't really understand what can be going wrong there. I didn't see anything in the documentation about needing to have anything installed to be able to use cc.

Do you mean the "Command Line Tools" from Xcode? Because I do have them installed already.

No clue, never used Mac's. ^.^;

Do you have a cc and an ar program on your path though? What versions? cc --version and ar --version perhaps, depending on the types installed?

Are cc and ar binaries that need to be installed? As far as I understand they're just some other Rust libraries that reqwest depends on. Shouldn't cargo manage the "installation" of those already?