Failed to contribute due to difficulty in understanding Rust

Hi everyone,

I am trying to migrate my api which is on typescript to Rust, And I've been trying for so many months to do it. It should'nt be that difficult for me as I have more than 10 years of experience in programming and building APIs. I tried so man ORMs and web frameworks. But I want to confess, IT's pain. Absolute pain to work with Rust. I tried to get engaged with various projects, (arysn, rbatis, wundergraph, etc.) but I'm unable to. I want a decent orm that supports geometry types. but not diesel. I am not able to find any. I want to add geometry types in a library, but Rust is so DIFFICULT that I cannot make even a simple change. It embarrasses me that this thing should be so easy( and is in every other language that I've worked with) but in Rust it becomes poison. I spent days to figure out if I could update existing libraries to add just one type.

Microservices is a space in which rust should shine as the binary is small and code is fast. When I look around there is no other language that comes close to in performance and memory safety. I have been an evangelist of rust to everyone I met. I even gave a presentation on Fastest and most reliable graphql service in the world. I am trying my best to contribute, but this language is insanely painful.

Someone tell me what am I missing. I just want to make microservices, not OS, not compilers, plain microservices with web frameworks and orms.

2 Likes

Rust is not a simple language like JS. Learning it takes time. And until you are fairly fluent with it, making changes to others libraries will look impossible – because it is!

2 Likes