Extremely basic virtual host parser

I'm a Rust novice and would appreciate feedback on whether this code (including tests) is idiomatic:

I'm using this to parse virtual host information from approximately 5,000 Apache configuration files, most of which contain virtual host definitions. Note that I'm aware of apachectl -S, but I want the code to be able to obtain this information from configuration files ‘offline’ (without having an Apache instance running). The files are well-formatted, and each contains at most one virtual host definition, so I don't have any edge cases to handle — the code is giving the expected results in its current form.

You could simplify this test

#[test]
fn from_str_none() {
    match VirtualHost::from_str("") {
        None => (),
        _ => panic!("virtual host should not be parsed from empty string"),
    };
}

a little to

#[test]
fn from_str_none() {
    assert!(VirtualHost::from_str("").is_none());
}

I'd also rename the test to something like from_empty_string.

4 Likes

You should run cargo clippy to see what it suggests, for example it might suggest to write this:

Some(VirtualHost {
                document_root,
                server_name,
                server_alias,
            })

Second - I'd make a parser that returns Result of some sort rather than Option. Currently you are ignoring unexpected values, normally you'd check and complain if something is unexpected.

3 Likes

Is a good practice use Self instead of the type name inside the implementations:

impl VirtualHost {
    /// Parses a `VirtualHost` from the specified Apache configuration text. Returns `None` if the
    /// text does not contain the details of a virtual host.
    pub fn from_str(configuration: &str) -> Option<Self> {
        let mut document_root = None;
        let mut server_name = None;
        let mut server_alias = Vec::new();

for line in configuration.lines() {
            let mut tokens = line.split_whitespace();