Executable not running on a different computer

I compile it on my main computer with vscode and then I transfer it to a different computer and then I get this error message:

compatible with the version of windows currently running. check your computer's system information if an x86 (32-bit) or (64-bit) version of the program is required, then contact the software vendor

not working in another pc

Are you missing the first part of the error message?

It almost sounds like you're trying to run a 64-bit executable on a 32-bit machine. Googling that error message also shows several results for checking what machine your computer is running on, including this one which contains the exact error text and points the user to a 32-bit installer.

Maybe you need to compile to a 32-bit target like i686-pc-windows-msvc?

2 Likes

Thanks for the answer, I am a beginner in this language. I tried to build a normal program that contains

fn main()
{
    let name = "Ahmad";
    print!("Hello {}", name);

}

I work on windows 7 64 bit I have installed Rust and I used the following commands but it does not work the program does not work for example on windows 7 32 bit

command

cargo build

cargo build --target x86_64-pc-windows-gnu

crago build target.x86_64-pc-windows-msvc

but nothing it works

rusttt

Does it work if you use the i686-pc-windows-msvc target?

Tip: Use rustc --print target-list to list all the known targets.

yes I do them and I choose my target, but it doesn't work in another pc for example

command

rustup set default-host i686-pc-windows-msvc

rustup toolchain install stable-gnu

it's just a simple code but nothing

Of course my 64 bit windows machine where I am compiling the project works fine but of course I try another 32 bit windows machine and 64 bit windows 10 and 64 bit windows 7, it doesn't work, the error comes back.

What does rustc -vV show?

rustc -vV

rustc 1.62.1 (e092d0b6b 2022-07-16)
binary: rustc