Error: lto can only be run for executables, cdylibs and static library outputs

Hello all, I'm running Gentoo and thought of trying to build packages with RUSTFLAGS="-C lto=fat" (also tried thin) and have been getting this error.
I've tried to compile a few packages now. After searching online I believe this is due to trying to build an rlib with LTO? I'm not too good with rust so I don't know. Is there any way around this? Is there a way to "prefer" LTO but ignore if it's an rlib?

This is the error, during the middle of a compile.
error: lto can only be run for executables, cdylibs and static library outputs

build.rs should ignore RUSTFLAGS · Issue #6375 · rust-lang/cargo · GitHub I saw this here recommending something called profiles? In this case I don't really have easy access to what args are given to cargo, if this is the only way can I use an environment variable instead of giving cargo an argument? Otherwise this would require a solution on an eclass/ebuild level....

I'd appreciate any suggestions on how to get as most as possible built with LTO, thanks for your time.

You are probably trying to build a rust dylib with LTO. This doesn't work as LTO needs the fast majority of the symbols to be private for it to be effective I think. A rust dylib exports every public symbol of all of it's dependencies.

Is there a way to not apply LTO to dylibs?

I don't think this only happens when the package I'm trying to build is a dylib as it also did this when building Alacritty..... But I guess I'll try a few more to be sure. The other ones being the rust compiler and librsvg as of right now. I'll try a few more in the meantime.

EDIT: this is the particular crate alacritty failed with https://crates.io/crates/vte_generate_state_changes