Error handling and iterator, map, collect

Hi,

This is my basic code for parsing an IPv4 address, and I don’t like the error handling:

let ip_parts = addr_parts[0].split(".").
        map(|s| s.parse::<u8>().ok().expect("only numbers 0-255 in ip address")).
        collect::<Vec<u8>>();

How should I go about it? There doesn’t seem to be a function that collects the elements in a Vec or returns an error, i.e. collect() -> Result<Vec<_>, Err(…)>. So how would one go about this more idiomatically, without causing a panic call on a parse error?

Thanks,

Theo

You can actually collect to a Result<Vec<u8>, _> and skip the .ok().expect(...) part.

Now I see it. The way I read the documentation, collect() maps Result<A, B> onto Vec<Result<A, B>>, but it has another implementation for Result<>. It just need explicit typing. I’m new to Rust, and didn’t expect that.

It doesn’t work for other functions like partition() or all() as well, does it?

Thanks!

It doesn’t look like Result implements Extend, so partition(...) wouldn’t work. all(...) should work, since it doesn’t matter what the items are and it doesn’t collect them in anything.

I must learn to read those type definitions a bit better. There’s a lot hidden in them. I see them as in C/Java/etc, where they are just requirements on the input parameter or result. In Rust, they are used for more than that. Almost like part of the function name. Well, some rethinking to do. Thanks again.

They are very similar to generics with interfaces in Java. They tell you how the type has to be, and not so much what it has be. And yes, you could say that they are a part of the function name, but it’s usually invisible, since the compiler is very good at selecting the one we want to use.