Error: distinct uses of `impl Trait` result in different opaque types

Hi,

I am new to Rust but I tried playing around with some code samples and see the limits. I tried doing a match on some string that would return me one of two async functions in order to later call it, see the following code:

fn main() {
    let mut input = String::new();
    println!("input unsigned integer:");
    std::io::stdin()
        .read_line(&mut input)
        .expect("readline error");
    let func = match input.trim() {
        "1" => a,
        _ => b,
    };
    func();
}

async fn a() -> u32 {
}

async fn b() -> u32 {
}

(Playground)

Despite how silly this code is, what would be the correct way forward? Is there a fix I can use to keep this idea, or should I just write something else completely?

I don't understand why I am getting distinct uses of 'impl Trait' result in different opaque types in this case.

Well thatā€™s just a note and not the ā€œmainā€ error message and it is certainly slightly confusing since you donā€™t write impl anywhere. The main error is `match` arms have incompatible types and this means that a and b have different types. Now what are the types of a or b?

A way to ā€œdesugarā€ the async function a

async fn a() -> u32 {
}

is like this:

fn a() -> impl Future<Output=u32> {
    async {
    }
}

there we got our impl.

What this means is that a() returns some type that is not further specified in the signature (but is going to be some concrete, in this case anonymous, type) that implements the trait Future. This type is generated by the async block. Now the return type of a is different from b, even though b looks really similar

fn b() -> impl Future<Output=u32> {
    async {
        b
    }
}