Error agnostic use of embedded_io_async::Read (and ::Write)

Hi all,

First time poster here. I’ve been working as an embedded software developer for about 25 years, mostly C but also some C++. Harbouring a wish to work with a modern programming language before my career ends in another fifteen years (give or take), I'm now exploring Rust.

Started a first project on a Raspberry Pi Pico, going with embassy_rp, no_std, and async goodness.

In the project, there is a protocol stack that encodes/decodes messages (enums with payload) to/from datagrams (arrays of u8). These datagrams can be carried over all sorts of data links (serial, ethernet, etc.) so it made sense to make the stack keep references to some implementation of one or more traits that provide the actual functions to read from/write to the link. Instead of rolling my own traits, I figured I'd go with existing ones, and embedded_io_async::{Read, Write} looked like they'd fit the bill.

To illustrate what I'm trying to do, here is a somewhat reasonably sized example.

#![no_std]
#![no_main]

use embassy_executor::Spawner;
use embassy_rp as _;
use embassy_time as _;

use defmt_rtt as _;
use panic_probe as _;

use embedded_io_async::{Error, ErrorKind, ErrorType, Read, Write};

#[embassy_executor::main]
async fn main(_spawner: Spawner) {
    let data_link = MyDataLink::default();
    let protocol_stack = MyProtocolStack::new(&data_link, &data_link);
}

struct MyProtocolStack<'a> {
    reader: &'a dyn Read,
    writer: &'a dyn Write,
}

impl<'a> MyProtocolStack<'a> {
    fn new(reader: &'a impl Read, writer: &'a impl Write) -> Self {
        MyProtocolStack { reader, writer }
    }

async fn send(&self) {
        self.writer.write([0x01]).await
    }
}

#[derive(Default)]
struct MyDataLink {}

impl Read for MyDataLink {
    async fn read(&mut self, _buf: &mut [u8]) -> Result<usize, Self::Error> {
        Err(MyDataLinkError::NotImplemented)
    }
}

impl Write for MyDataLink {