"encoding_rs": how to specify the encoding as "String"?

Hi all
(I'm a beginner with Rust)

This works perfectly:

use encoding_rs;
use encoding_rs::SHIFT_JIS;

let raw_data = vec![142,75,130,209,130,189,142,169,147,93,142,212,130,198,141,98,138,107,151,222];
let (result, _encoding, errors) = SHIFT_JIS.decode(&raw_data);
println!("OUTPUT \"{}\"", result);

The console/terminal prints this, which is absolutely OK:

OUTPUT "錆びた自転車と甲殻類"

My question is, how can I specify the encoding ("SHIFT_JIS" in the above example) as a string with "encoding_rs" when calling the "decode()"-method?
Alterntively, can I somehow create an "encoding"-variable (like the "SHIFT_JIS" above) by specifying as a String its type when I create it?

In Python I used to execute...
<my_bytes_variable>.decode(sCharset, errors="strict")
...where "sCharset" (ok, maybe I should have called it "sEncoding" - I still don't fully understand the difference between charset and encoding) contained e.g. the string "shift_jis" or anything else.

I can think that it's something simple that I overlooked but after 10 hours of digging into it I start getting desperate... :stuck_out_tongue:

Cheers

Umm... Have you tried to look on the documentation?

That's not an insult. When I have only started using Rust I was, often, confused by the lack of answers even to very simple questions even for very popular crates on StackOverflow and other sites. Then I tried to rely on the documentation and compiler more… and realized why.

I mean: if you read the documentation and you first attempt to use crate according to it works… there would be no trail for Google to find, right?

Read the documentation for crates, it's your friends.

This works for me:

use encoding_rs;

fn main() {
  let raw_data = vec![142,75,130,209,130,189,142,169,147,93,142,212,130,198,141,98,138,107,151,222];
  if let Some(encoding) = encoding_rs::Encoding::for_label(b"SHIFT_JIS") {
    let (result, _encoding, _errors) = encoding.decode(&raw_data);