Encoding problem of cmake path on windows

Dear Rust users,

I am trying to compile a library with cmake from a build.rs file. The only response I get from cargo build is build script output was not valid utf-8. I run Rust on a Windows 10, 64bit, msvc version.

I am new to Rust so hopefully there is an obvious solution that I haven't found yet. I have searched the web for some time and was only able to find a discussion where people had strange names in their path. Mine, however, should only include "normal" characters (path is C:\Users\My-Name\Documents\dev\mycrate\mycrate-sys\target\debug\build\mycrate-sys-000682e067ebf920\out).

I'd be very happy if someone could tell me how to resolve the problem.

Did you escaped the backslashes? Like C:\Users\Name\ should be included in the source code as C:\\Users\\Name\\.

If you did, can you post the content of your build.rs script ?

Thank you for the quick reply. I assumed, the cmake crate does this for me.

My build.rs looks like the example in the cmake crate:

extern crate cmake;

fn main(){
    let dst = cmake::build("libzmq");

println!("cargo:rustc-link-search=native={}", dst.display());
    println!("cargo:rustc-link-lib=static=zmq");
}

Since I wasn't able to see the output of the build script, I inserted the following lines in the middle to save the content of the path to a file.

let mut f = File::create("lib.log").unwrap();
let name: String = format!("{}", dst.display());
f.write(&name.into_bytes());

I just tried to replace every backslash with two with the idea that maybe there is a problem with parsing them, but had no luck. :frowning:

Well, that looks strange. What is the content of lib.log here?

C:\Users\My-Name\Documents\dev\zmq\zmq-sys\target\debug\build\zmq-sys-000682e067ebf920\out

Well, I am out of ideas here. It might be an issue with cargo trying to parse the output of the build script.

A way to test that would be to replace all \ by / in the path, but I did not find the needed methods for that.