Embedded rust current situation?

I've seen various threads on this but I'm struggling to gather the most up to date picture.
What is the current situation regarding using Rust on devices such as the 8266, ESP32, Teensy 4.0 and pi pico?

For ARM processors (Teensy, Pi Pico) it is possible to compile, although the best support have ARM processors from ST and Nordic. For the esp8266/32 the support is just really bad, as the underlying Xtensa architecture is not really supported by Rust.

Take a look here: GitHub - rust-embedded/awesome-embedded-rust: Curated list of resources for Embedded and Low-level development in the Rust programming language

1 Like

That's great, thank you, I'll read that material.
I'm new to this, (web developer for 23 years), does this mean that the features of the boards are also supported, for example I2C, SPI, PWM through existing libraries?

I'm not familiar with the Teensy or Pi Pico, but in general, there are two types of libraries for hardware support in Embedded Rust (at least for ARM Cortex-M microcontrollers):

1. Peripheral Access Crates (PACs): Those are automatically generated from a vendor-provided file (the SVD file) and the resulting PAC is as good or complete as the SVD file (which typically means, mostly complete but possibly rather buggy). It's also usually a pain to use. Very low-level, and can't be understood without a good understanding of the hardware itself.
  2. Hardware Abstraction Layer (HAL): Those are hand-written libraries built on top of a PAC, with an API that is typically more convenient and harder to get wrong. Writing those is a lot of work, so their completeness and quality varies a lot. Often they are started by a single person for a single project. For the more popular hardware, they are then built upon by others and can become quite good.

What you want to use depends heavily on the requirements of your project, and thus what hardware you want to use. I'll give you three pointers: