ELI5/Newbie Questions

Hello Rustaceans,

I'm new to Rust and programming in general pretty much. I've taken the guessing game tutorial from the Rust Book and have started modifying it to try and create a simple text game, but to my dismay I haven't gotten very far without a good amount of questions popping up.

Here is my source

Questions:

1. Why doesn't use std::io::stdout work as a use for the below code, and per the docs I don't understand why I have to use use std::io::{self, Write} to use the following code?

io::stdout().flush().unwrap();

2. Based on the docs, trim removes any whitespaces in the string. This, I'm sure is helpful to get matching correctly - however, why is it required for this to compile?

What would I use if I wanted to match but preserve whitespace, such as the sentence "I like turtles"?

match player_command.trim() {
  1. Per the guessing game, the code used to do matching on the numbers uses match guess.cmp(&secret_number) - Why do you need to pass a reference as your argument when using cmp if it's not modifying the variable, but for match player_command.trim() I can pass the variable, and don't have to pass &player_command?
  1. The flush method comes from the Write trait, which is not imported by default. You need to import a trait to use its methods.
  2. The player_command is a String, while you're matching on &str. The trim is just one of many methods that goes from String to &str. You can just call as_ref() instead of trim(). &*player_command and &player_command[..] would also get you a &str.
    Oh, and trim() doesn't remove whitespace from inside of the string. What's even more interesting, it can't! That's because the &str is only a borrow, so the actual string has to exist somewhere else – in this case, it's the part of the original string.