E0373 when underlying vector does outlive thread borrowing it

I'm new to Rust and trying to compile some lecture notes to help some students learn about the subject and I came across this in chapter 16 of the book: Using Threads to Run Code Simultaneously - The Rust Programming Language . I'm running the example about spawning a thread with the vector where a closure takes place with a slight modification.

Here's the code I'm working with:

use std::thread;

fn main() {
    let v = vec![1, 2, 3];

let handle = thread::spawn(|| {
        println!("Here's a vector: {:?}", v);
    });

handle.join().unwrap();
    println!("{:?}", v);
}

I've added the last line println!("{:?}", v); to the example. Without it, it is clear that v may not live long enough, because the closure may outlive the current function. However, I expected that by adding a usage of v after the join(), that it would mean the compiler can reason that the vector v must live past the join() and therefore outlive the thread and its closure. Still, the compiler says error[E0373]: closure may outlive the current function, but it borrows v, which is owned by the current function

Maybe that's incorrect, though? I thought about if I should open this as an issue in Github, but seeing that this forum exists I thought maybe I'd ask here first in case I'm overlooking something.

I'm working with Rust in macOS using 1.39.0 + CLion environment.

Here's the signature of thread::spawn:

pub fn spawn<F, T>(f: F) -> JoinHandle<T>
where
    F: FnOnce() -> T,
    F: Send + 'static,
    T: Send + 'static,

The F: 'static bound means that the closure passed can't capture non-'static data from its environment. The placement of join() doesn't have any effect, and neither does the later use of v. As far as the compiler is concerned, what's wrong here is that you tried to pass a non-'static closure to a function that requires a 'static closure, and that's that.