Does Rust improve your C and C++ code?

I'm very new to Rust. I've only written one program, which was a reimplementation of something I'd written in C# that was itself a copy of a book example. My recent experience, i.e., 10+ years, has been in the Microsoft .NET stack, though I did do C++ for several years before that.

But for those in the systems programming space have you found that, say, reimplementing a C or C++ component in Rust has helped uncover bugs or improved your technique when you return to C or C++?

I'm just curious.

Personally I have not found that getting into Rust has uncovered any bugs in the C/C++ I had written previously. However it did emphasise how it happened that past C/C++ projects I have worked on involving multiple developers over a number years did result in "interesting" bugs that caused problems after deployment and took significant time and effort to fix.

It also demonstrated that we don't have to live like that any more. There is a better way.

I can point to one example where this has happened. Cliff Biffle wrote a VGA graphics demo for tiny micro-controllers in C and then wrote the same again in Rust. During the course of which he realised at least one bug in his original C code. It's an interesting story: Rewriting m4vgalib in Rust - Cliffle

I cannot speak about returning to C or C++. I have no intension of ever doing so.

3 Likes

:grinning:

I didn't really return to C or C++, either. (I had to for a brief half year when I was teaching an introductory programming course in C++ last semester, but that's nothing serious, as you can probably imagine.)

However, since I found Rust, there are smaller or larger bits of language design that I am missing in every other language I use. For example, I miss macro-based metaprogramming in Swift. I miss value semantics in Python. I miss algebraic Optional and Result in C#. I miss coherence in Haskell, and so forth.