Difficulty understanding Futures/Async

I'm learning to use hyper which uses futures to allow async I/O. I want to embrace that concept, but am having a hard time understanding how to work with it, or what its implications are. I'm not even entirely sure how to express my confusion, so bear with me.

Hyper's Service trait has a function call that handles HTTP requests and returns a future. If one of these calls triggered a computation that's either expensive or high latency, do I understand it right that this would block the whole server? In other words, do I need to package time-intensive, nested computations into some iterative logic (implementing the Future trait) and return Async::NotReady, and the event loop will automagically revisit these nested futures until they've completed?

I read a lot of documentation on this, so I think a dialog with another human is my last hope.

I'm not a Hyper expert (far from it, actually), but I believe you're correct - your Service impl's call will be called on the event loop, which is shared with other services and general I/O.

If you have an expensive computation to perform inside call, consider using futures_cpupool - Rust to offload the computation to a background thread. That computation will be wrapped in a Future. You would then chain a continuation future onto that one, which will deal with the result of the computation and send it back out in the HTTP response (presumably). The chained future is what you'd return back to Hyper from the call function. Hyper will then register that Future with the event loop.

3 Likes

So to get a very simplified picture:

Req #1 -> Service::call() -> future(data)
           -> hyper_responds_to_client()
Req #2 -> Service::call() -> CpuPool::spawn(long_computation()) -> future(not_ready)
           -> hyper_queues_for_later_polling()
Req #3 -> Service::call() -> future(data)
Req #4 -> Service::call() -> future(data)
| CpuPool somehow registers tasks completion