Different implementations of a struct depends on whether it has the given trait or not

I am a newbie to rust and now in trouble with generics and trait.
First, I define a trait like this.

pub trait MyPrint {
    fn print(&self);
}

Then I want to define another struct, to check whether a type has trait MyPrint, and implement the corresponding function. Pseduo code as below

struct Checker<T> {
    phantom: std::marker::PhantomData<T>,
}

impl<T> Checker<T> {
    fn check() where T: MyPrint {
        println!("Type T implements MyTrait");
    }

fn check_not() where T: !MyPrint {
        println!("Type T does not implement MyTrait");
    }
}

However, I got the error (negative bounds are not supported). I' d appeciate it if anyone could give me some suggestions on it.

Negative bounds are indeed not stable. However, they also don't mean what you probably think they mean. For a negative bound to hold, a type has to explicitly opt out of implementing the trait:

impl !MyPrint for MyStruct {}

So T: !MyPrint doesn't mean "T doesn't implement MyPrint (currently)", it means "T has promised not to implement MyPrint (ever[1])".

What you're asking about isn't directly possible, and my phrasing above may have given you a clue as to why: If it was possible, it would become a major breaking change to implement MyPrint. Any code calling Checker::<T>::check_not() would suddenly fail to compile. Implementing new traits isn't supposed to be a breaking change.[2]

You can kinda-sorta approximate things by implementing one function for everybody ("maybe implements MyPrint") and another function for types that definitely implement MyPrint.

1. it's a breaking change, so they could only reasonably do so in a new major release ↩︎

2. to the extent possible; there are some niche exceptions ↩︎

3 Likes

You are totally right. Checker::<T>::check_not() would be dangerous for those Ts who implement MyPrint.