Deserialize super long number as string using serde_json

Hi, can someone help me deserialize a super long number in a json response into a String? The field contains a "uuid number", and the number is too big to fit in any rust number types.

I'm very new to rust. I'm trying to do this using serde_json, but some of the nuances just aren't clicking for me yet.

Example JSON API response:

{
  "uuidNumber": 2386290877745342463654898740001354837999050286499262318283
}

Possible desired implementation (open to alternatives):

struct UUIDNumber(String);

impl<'de> Deserialize<'de> for UUIDNumber {
    fn deserialize<D>(deserializer: D) -> Result<Self, D::Error>
    where
        D: serde::Deserializer<'de>,
    {
        // TODO!?
    }
}

And the struct that I'd deserialize to would be written something like:

#[derive(serde::Deserialize, Debug)]
#[serde(rename_all = "camelCase")]
struct APIResponse {
    uuid_number: UUIDNumber,
}

Although I'd still like to see a solution like this, I suppose I could also explore a BigInt crate as well.

Thanks so much!
Josh

You can turn on the arbitrary_precision feature of serde_json, and then serde_json::value::Number will deserialize from numbers of arbitrary size.

Example.

3 Likes

Hey, that's pretty cool! I just tried it and it parsed it to this:

uuid_number: Number(2386290877745342463654898740001354837999050286499262318283)

Thank you!

I'm still curious if there's a way to do it and convert it to a string without enabling that feature. Is that possible?

In general, if a type has a human-readable representation, then it should implement Display and transitively ToString. See example.

No, I don't think so. What's wrong with enabling the feature?

2 Likes