Deriving external traits on external structs

I am new to Rust. I read in the Rust Book that you cannot implement a trait from an external crate for a struct which is in an external crate. Unfortunately, I'm in the position of needing to do exactly this. I want to take structs from systemstat, serialize them using bincode (which requires Serialize from serde_derive) and send them over the network to be deserialized by the receiver.

I have read the responses to these StackOverflow issues:

It seems like the answer is:

• I can't derive Serialize, Deserialize from serde_derive on types defined in systemstat.
  • I could contact the authors of either crate and ask that they depend on the other, and derive Serialize, Deserialize.
  • I could fork one of the modules and add the derive tags myself.
  • I could wrap types in systemstat with my own type. This would mean:
    • I would have to manually implement Serialize, Deserialize, deriving would not be possible.
    • To manually implement it I would have to hard code many of the fieldnames, duplicating much of the struct code. In addition, I would essentially be duplicating what the impl Serialize code from the serde_derive module does.
    • When I get stats as a vector of structs from systemstat I would have to traverse the vector and wrap the elements in my new type.
    • Any time I wanted to use the native functionality I would have to unwrap the new type first.

Is this really considered best practice? If so, are there any RFCs which propose a better solution to this?

This isn't an immediate assistance to you, but the Rust API guidelines recommend that library authors implement Serialize and Deserialize for public facing data structures for exactly this reason. If serde isn't already a dependency of the library, it's best to add it as an optional dependency.

Perhaps systemstat would accept a patch that adds the traits.

1 Like

Serde has a workaround for this case:

https://serde.rs/remote-derive.html

5 Likes