CSV Cleaner: First Rust Project

Hi. I'm new to Rust. I've written up a little opensource tool to clean CSV files as a practical learning exercise that will help me with my job: GitHub - ambidextrous/csv_cleaner: CLI tool for row-wise cleaning of CSV files with logging of destructive operations

The script is a literally a result of my having read half of the Rust book and then battled the borrow checker until the thing compiled. I don't know any Rust programmers personally, so I'd really appreciate it if someone could take a look at the code and tell me what I'm doing wrong.

For context, I'm a data engineer who works mainly with Python and SQL, and am looking to learn some Rust to speed up the bottlenecks in my code. I have zero experience in systems programming languages.

2 Likes

Honestly it looks pretty good. I'm used to scanning first efforts being far more painful :wink: Nice to see you're using the csv crate.

One thing that can save you some effort is if let, especially for Options.

For example, I saw a couple of things like

match &column_log.max_invalid {
    Some(x) => {
        max_val = x.clone();
    }
    None => {}
}

And you can make that a bunch shorter by doing

if let Some(x) = &column_log.max_invalid {
    max_val = x.clone();
}

(Basically if you're writing None => {} that's a good hint to take a look at whether there's another way you can do that.)

As an entirely "your milage may vary", thing, I saw

let empty_vec: Vec<String> = Vec::new();
let empty_string = "".to_string();
let mut column_map = HashMap::new();

You can also write String::new() to get an empty string, if you prefer that.

"".to_string(), String::new(), "".to_owned(), String::default(), etc are all fine, so it's just a style choice. But if you like Vec::new() over vec![], then I thought you might like String::new() in that snippit too.

8 Likes