Crc of a struct

Hello.

I'm quite new to this programming language and I'm wondering how can I calculate crc of a struct with crc field in Rust.
Let's say I have struct like this one:
struct Data {
field1 : i32,
field2 : f64,
field3 : u8,
// ...
crc : u16
}
In C you usually pass the address of that struct and then the sizeof(struct Data) - sizeof(Data.crc) and assign that to crc. How this is done in Rust? Should I pass all fields one by one to crc function and then assign sum of those to crc?

Thank you and best regards.

In C you usually pass the address of that struct and then the sizeof(struct Data) - sizeof(Data.crc) and assign that to crc

You can do the same in (unsafe) rust, however it will not be portable (as in: returnt he same value) between little- and big-endian architectures.

Make sure you use #[repr(C)] because otherwise the layout is not guaranteed and crc may not be the last field.

Should I pass all fields one by one to crc function and then assign sum of those to crc?

That's the only way to do it with safe rust. Unless there's a strong performance reason to want to CRC the entire structure at once, it's probably preferable.

No you can't do so in C, unless there isn't any padding between fields. Let's assume we have some C struct like this:

struct Data {
    int32_t field1;
    double field2;
    uint8_t field3;
}

How big this struct would be? 4 + 8 + 1 = 13? No. This struct would occupy 24 bytes in memory. Why? Because the compiler inserts padding between fields to fulfill each field's alignment requirement.

What's alignment? Most types requires its address to be multiple of some value when it stored on memory for fast processing. For example double, an IEEE754 double precision floating point number type wants its address to be multiple of 8.