Could not compile rand_core or winapi

I am just learning rust and following the initial tutorial. No trouble building and running 'Hello, world!". Then I went on to using cargo to run the guessing game. I added rand = "0.5.5" to the dependencies (I also tried 0.5.6) and received the following when I tried cargo build....

Compiling rand_core v0.4.2
Compiling winapi v0.3.8
Compiling rand_core v0.3.1
error: failed to build archive: no such file or directory

error: aborting due to previous error

error: could not compile rand_core.

To learn more, run the command again with --verbose.
warning: build failed, waiting for other jobs to finish...

error: could not compile rand_core.

To learn more, run the command again with --verbose.
warning: build failed, waiting for other jobs to finish...

error: could not compile winapi.

I have no idea what to do now...thanks

It sounds like there is a problem with your Rust installation. Which OS are you using?

Windows 10 . I followed the installation instructions with rustup

Initial goolging of the "failed to build archive: no such file or directory" error indicates that cargo is unable to find some other program that it needs. Perhaps you need to change your PATH?

That message comes from rustc build_with_llvm(): src/librustc_codegen_llvm/back/archive.rs

So my guess is that Visual Studio is missing Windows SDK component, so it can't build a static library.

My path includes .cargo\bin, which I see includes the rustc and cargo executables.. Is there another directory that should also be in the path?

I downloaded and installed the WIndows SDK (https://developer.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/downloads/windows-10-sdk/) but I get the same errors when I try to cargo build

Still in need of some guidance. I would love to learn rust, but it doesn't help that it gives me these cryptic messages and no way to fix things.