Conway's game of life in the terminal [beginner needs review]

Hello, I'm new to Rust (discovered this amazing language last week coming from little experience with C++) coming back in programming(it's been a month) from a few years without programming, as I plan to become a professional programmer (starting CS/IT studies in France in September).
I made a Conway's game of life in the terminal as a first Rust project, it works on both Linux and Windows.
I would please like some code review on what I should or shouldn't have done. Thank you :wink:
Here is the code: terminal-game-of-life/main.rs at main Β· KrySoar/terminal-game-of-life Β· GitHub

Well, for one I would probably add a #[derive(PartialEq, Eq)] on your State enum so you can do upper_left == State::Alive rather than matches!(upper_left,State::Alive).

Other than that, you have a few warnings that I would fix. I would also try running clippy on it, which gives a few more warnings.

Comments are not in order of importance, but in the order they popped into my mind:

• You are using signed 16-bit integers for sizes; that's inappropriate. Okay, 16 bits may be enough for all practical uses, but why signed? You can't have a negative-sized grid. You end up always casting the indexes/sizes to usize anyway, so why aren't you using usize in the first place? This is what usize is for.
  • You should be #[derive]ing standard traits such as Default and Debug for your Grid.
    • Relatedly, lines 19–22 are just a very verbose way of writing vec![State::Dead; height * width].
  • There is no good reason why the get_state() function returns a reference. Primitive types and pure data in general should really just be passed around by value.
    • Maybe you were thinking to implement Index and IndexMut instead?