Control MCO in RCC.CFGR after freeze()

I'm new to Rust, but done a fair amount of embedded C development. I've been using a Bluepill board to learn embedded rust, and one of the things I wanted to do was use the MCO (Micro-controller clock output) pin to verify some of the clocks on the board. While I was able to arrive at something that works, my solution seems quite awkward and I wanted to see if there was a better one.

On the STM32, the bits which control the MCO feature are in the CFGR register of the RCC module. As far as I can tell, I must freeze this register to set the clocks. Once it is "frozen" no further modifications to it can be made, even to MCO which has no influence on the clock rate. Is this really the case, or is there a way around this limitation? It seems unfortunate, since it prevents setting up the clocks and testing more than one without re-flashing the part.

The parts of my main.rs dealing with RCC look like this:

let dp = pac:: Peripherals::take().unwrap();

dp.RCC.cfgr.modify( |_r, w| { w.mco().variant(pac::rcc:cfgr::MCO_A::SYSCLK } )

let mut rcc = dp.RCC.constrain();

let _clocks = rcc.cfgr.sysclk(36.mhz()).freeze(&mut flash.acr);

I get the feeling I'm doing this "wrong". At the very least, is there a way to combine the register write to the MCO in the builder that I missed? A way to access the SYSCLK variant without the deep path?

Finally,(and hopefully this doesn't completely overload this post) but as a secondary question: can anyone explain or point me to a description of what the constrain() method is for? I didn't see it anywhere in the embedded book, and the rust-docs on it are pretty opaque to me, but it's use seems pretty widespread.

My understanding is that constrain() and freeze() consume the registers to prevent further modification. It is designed this way for safety reasons. I found this blog post helpful to understand the philosophy behind it.

Thanks, that blog post is helpful, but also still confusing to me.