Constraining associated value of trait objects (specifically Iterator)

Hi,

I'm new to Rust and am writing one of my first programs, but I'm familiar with c++.

Please can you let me know if there a way for me to deal with the error 'dyn Iterator<Item = &MyType>' doesn't implement 'Debug'?

MyType implements Debug.

I have tried searching for this and tried various ways of addressing it but none worked. At one point I derived a new trait DebugIterator, with supertraits of Iterator and Debug, and that led me stumbling to here (Tracking issue for RFC 2289, "Associated type bounds" · Issue #52662 · rust-lang/rust · GitHub) but I am not sure if it means my approach isn't going to work.

I'm not sure if further context would be useful or appreciated, but here is the background just in case the idiomatic solution is for an overhaul rather than fixing this specific error!

I am trying to write a series of trait implementations that will convert a number of types into fewer more generic types in a Enum (as part of a process towards serializing them and just to learn). I am aware of the serde crate, but I would like to write something custom myself to learn Rust, and inspecting the serde source is a bit beyond me.

For example, so far I have an enum MyType and my process has been:

• u32, i32 (and suitable others) are returned as MyType::Int(i64);
  • f32 (and suitable others) as MyType::Float(f32);
  • String (and perhaps suitable others) as MyType::String(&str);
  • and I'd like to return Vec, Hashmap (and suitable others) as some form of reference to a generic collection.