Confused by lifetimes and traits for test doubles?

Hello! I’m fairly new to learning Rust, but so far the community and documentation have been excellent in getting me unstuck. Thanks for all your hard work! That said, I seem to have painted myself into a corner that I don’t quite understand.

I’m having trouble writing tests around a piece of code that, in test mode, must not be called (it uses ring 0 instructions). I’ve looked around at a few places, and it seems that the common answer to mocking / stubbing is to extract a trait for the stubbed-out unit and provide an alternate implementation.

Fair enough – I’m curious as to whether there are any hints I can provide to the compiler that in non-test-code there should be exactly one implementation of that trait – but extracting an interface my double can build to is something I’m somewhat used to. So now my code looks something like this:

// The code I'd like to mock
trait Bar {
  fn put(&self, usize);
  fn get(&self) -> usize;
}

// The code I'm testing
struct Foo {
  bar: Bar,
  num: usize,
}

impl Foo {
  fn go(&self) { self.bar.put(self.num) }
}

// The big, scary Bar
struct BigBar { big_bar: usize }
impl Bar for BigBar {
  fn put(&self, u: usize) { panic!("oh no") }
  fn get(&self) -> usize { panic!("oh no") }
}

#[cfg(test)]
struct TestBar { val: usize }

#[cfg(test)]
impl Bar for TestBar {
  fn put(&self, u: usize) { self.val = u }
  fn get(&self) -> usize { self.val }
}

#[test]
fn test() {
  let foo = Foo {
    bar: TestBar { val: 0 },
    num: 42,
  };

foo.go();

assert_eq!(foo.bar.get(), 42)
}

I immediately discovered that traits are very different from structs when it comes to sizing:

test.rs:7:3: 7:11 error: the trait `core::marker::Sized` is not implemented for the type `Bar + 'static` [E0277]
test.rs:7   bar: Bar,
            ^~~~~~~~
test.rs:7:3: 7:11 help: run `rustc --explain E0277` to see a detailed explanation