Confused about "this reinitialization might get skipped" error

I have ran into an issue developing an application in Rust which I can't figure out. I am new to Rust and low level languages in general, so bear with me if this a newbie question.

The code where I get this error message is quite large, but I've managed to create a small snippet which even if it doesn't make sense in what's trying to do, it does reproduce the behavior I'm interested in.

enum Item {
    Type1 {
        optstrfield: Option<String>,
        strfield: String,
    },
}

struct Owner {
    pub items: std::collections::LinkedList<Item>,
}

fn main() {
    let mut owner = Owner {
        items: std::collections::LinkedList::new(),
    };
    owner.items.push_back(Item::Type1 {
        optstrfield: Some("text".to_string()),
        strfield: "text".to_string(),
    });
    let owner_ref = &mut owner;
    for item in &mut owner_ref.items {
        match item {
            Item::Type1 { optstrfield, strfield } => {
                // This if block works
                if let Some(s) = optstrfield {
                    println!(
                        "{} {}",
                        format!("{}", s),
                        format!("{}", strfield),
                    );
                } else {
                    println!(
                        "{} {}",
                        format!("{}", strfield),
                        format!("{}", strfield),
                    );
                }
                // But the following equivalent statement doesn't
                // println!(
                //     "{} {}",
                //     format!("{}", if let Some(s) = optstrfield { s } else { strfield }),
                //     format!("{}", strfield),
                // );
            }
        };
    }
}